Cliché? Potentially.

Seemingly the vast majority of my life has been defined by the books I read. I was always that kid at recess who sat on the steps of the school and read a book, instead of playing tag or attempting to harass the on duty supervisor. I think that the books we choose to read, or potentially the lack thereof, are a direct reflection of our interests and who we are in that moment, or who/what we aspire to be. Now I’m not saying that every kid who reads Harry Potter is there in that moment committing themselves to being a wizard when they grow up, but I think we can observe a little of their character in their choice to read Harry Potter as opposed to Captain Underpants (not that there’s anything wrong with Captain Underpants).

As I look around my room on this sweltering hot day, the books I see in front of me really do reflect the person I want to be, or the interests and passions I want to pursue. Faith vs. Fact (an insight into the science vs. religion debate) sits beside me, as does Rilke’s Book of Hours (love poems to God) and Where We Belong by Emily Giffin. Books are an essential part to who I am…I love reading, I love writing, and above all, I love learning.

You’re probably wondering where this ties into my decision to start a blog…in this moment I’m kind of wondering the same thing.

A few days ago I bought a ticket to visit my relatives in Germany. In a week.

This is both scary and exciting.

I have been pondering this trip for the last few months, swaying back and forth over whether I felt comfortable going and if it was the right and best thing for me to do for me. After much back and forth I finally did it. I bought my ticket. My mum has been suggesting for a while now that I practise my writing skills by blogging, and this seems like the perfect opportunity to do so.

As previously established, I really do love reading, and I really do love writing, and so I’m hoping that by documenting my experiences while away I can both improve my writing skills, and at the same time bring my family and friends along with me to experience this trip. Anyone who knows me in the slightest way will know that my family and friends are a HUGE part of who I am, especially my family. We have been dreaming of going to Germany together as a family for a long time, and although we’re not all going together this summer, I’m hoping that by creating this blog my family can share these experiences with me in some way, regardless of whether they are right beside me or across the world.

As Anais Nin once said, “We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.” I’m hoping that not only I can taste these experiences twice, but that all those who wish to can.

Leave a Reply

