Castle Bound.

The last few days have been a whirlwind of activity – walks with the kids through the forests, my first “Döner” (which I still can’t say properly), catching uIMG_2027p with long lost family and last but not least, an amazing hike to a real life fairytale castle. It’s been a solid 10 on the cool factor so far. I now sit here out on the balcony at 6:39 in the morning watching the streaks of red and orange dissipate into the sky, keeping my ears perked for signs of children waking, and attempt to condense all that has happened in the last few days into one not so rambly blog post.

Burg Eltz, the name of the castle we went to, is nestled on the banks of the Mozelle River between Koblenz and Tier and has been owned by the Eltz family for since the 12th century, thirtyIMG_2049-three generations ago. It took an hour of driving and then a small hike to get to the castle. The hike was absolutely amazing – I can’t overstate enough how beautiful the forests here in Germany are, they are truly breathtaking. After fifteen minutes of staring in awe at the beauty around us we turned a corner and caught our first glimpse of the castle. It was the most awe-inspiring sight I have ever seen, with it’s many turrets, flags and cobblestone paths, I truly expected to see Snow White or Sleeping Beauty leaning out of a window waving their handkerchief at us.

It was all in all amazing, we walked through the castle guided by a tour guide, seeing everything from the baby nursery to the woman’s room, to t
he knight’s commonplace. Unfortunately we weren’t allowed to take pictures, and although my uncle told me to do it anyway, my Oma promptly scolded me very loudly in German when I discreetly tried to pull out my iPhone. I highly recommend anyone who comes to Germany check out this castle, although I’ve never been to Neuschwanstein Castle (which inspired the now famous Disney Castle), I’ve heard that Burg Eltz is comparatively better due to it’s relative lack of obnoxious tourists (I of course being the exception).

The drive back hoIMG_2143me was just as amazing, along great rivers and mountains, where I could see ski paths marked along the hilly countryside, and vineyards planted on the mountains. All in all, it was absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

